Skip to content

Lebanon: The land of events

August 10, 2009

I just got back from a mini-vacation in Lebanon.  I totally adore how Lebanon continuously has cultural events.  I have missed a lot of great events in Lebanon this summer. I sometimes wish I could attend every single event they hold but on most nights you have to choose an event, since they are several simultaneous events at once.  (By events, I mean plays, exhibits, performances, concerts, and much more.)

While I was in Lebanon, I couldn’t get to see much but I was glad I managed a trip to Baalbeck to see Ron Carter and Eddie Palmieri perform as part of the Baalbeck International Festival.  I have to say I wasn’t so impressed by their performance but the ambience there was spectacular and breathtaking, and could almost make someone cry (as a friend said).  We were seated at the courtyard of the two temples and if I remember anything about my history correctly, the temple of Bachus was facing us and the temple of Jupiter was behind us (but don’t take my word on this).  The weather was great (breezy and slightly chilly), the audience seemed pleased, and all in all it just felt great being there.

Ron Carter and Eddie Palmieri at Baalbeck

Ron Carter and Eddie Palmieri at Baalbeck

A few events I missed this summer and wished to go to were Hanine Y Son Cubano and Charles Aznavour who both performed at the Beiteddine festival, Bejart Ballet Lausane and Caracalla,  who performed at the Baalbeck International Festival and La Traviata whole be performing at the Baalbeck International Festival this upcoming Thursday and at the Byblos Festival I would have loved to watch Saif 840 that took place the last 2 days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Summer permalink
    September 22, 2009 9:49 pm

    I love Lebanon!!

Leave a Reply

